Volunteer Opportunities Around the Parish

The Liturgical Environment Committee wants you!

We are seeking your helpful hands to keep Holy Name of Jesus beautiful as the liturgical seasons change.  Our crew comes together 10-12 times per year to change banners, flower pots, setup Nativity scenes and more.  Be on our call list, no obligation.  Here are ways you can help:

Join us for 3-hour daytime shifts, snacks included.

Join us for the larger Christmas and Easter setups, lunch included.

Join our committee for planning, design, scheduling, etc.

Contact us for more information:

Sherry Proulx 612-418-9784  sherryproulx@comcast.net

Martha Long 763-331-5349  LongM@me.com

Ministry Area Commissions (Parish Leadership)

Ministry Commissions (MCs) work with the directors of ministry to form plans related to the Strategic Directions set by the Pastoral Council. Meetings occur once per month in the evenings, usually on the third Thursday. MC members serve for a term of three years, beginning with a nomination and discernment process in May of each year. Possible commissions are:

  • School
  • Faith Formation
  • Liturgy
  • Pastoral Care
  • Administration
  • Parish Life

Contact: Michele Kirchoff, 763-473-7901 X120 or mkirchoff@hnoj.org

 

Finance Council

Adults with backgrounds in business, finance, law, and business development are needed to review financial statements and report to and advise the Pastor on:

  • Financial planning
  • Liability issues
  • Development techniques
  • Independent financial reviews (audits)
  • Budgets and financial statements
  • Investment policy and execution
  • Audit engagement
  • Financial-development activities
  • Other issues as they arise

This committee meets approximately eight times a year at 7:15 a.m.

Contact: Michele Kirchoff, 763-473-7901 X120 or mkirchoff@hnoj.org

 

Money Counters

This team meets weekly to open and record the receipts from Sunday liturgies. Confidentiality is required.

Contact: Barbara Dzurik, 763-473-7901 ext 402, bdzurik@hnoj.org

 

On-Call Office Help

Help on an on-call basis with mail preparation, material assembly, filing, and other projects as needed. Participants are generally called the day before the project is to be assembled.

Contact: Debby Floeder, 763-473-7901 ext 450, dfloeder@hnoj.org

 

Building and Grounds Committee

Adults with backgrounds in the areas listed below are needed to actively contribute to the planning and execution of building and grounds maintenance, to create best practices, and to determine repair,

improvement, and upgrade priorities. Meetings are held approximately four times a year.

  • Building Trades
  • Construction
  • Property management
  • Architecture
  • Landscaping

Contact: Carol Bishop, 763-745-3480, cbishop@hnoj.org 

 

Mowing

Volunteers cut the grass and trim around the parish and cemetery grounds. Must be able to operate a mower and/or gas weed-trimmer. Thursdays throughout the growing season.

Contact: Carol Bishopr, 763-745-3480, cbishop@hnoj.org

 

God’s Garden Disciples

Plant and maintain flower beds throughout the parish grounds.

Contact: Frank Renshaw, 763-473-4096, frenshaw@hnoj.org

 

Communications Committee

Work together to develop communications strategies and tactics for:

  • HNOJ.org
  • E-communications
  • Print communications
  • Displays and presentation materials
  • Other means of communication at our parish

Meetings take place quarterly or as needed.

Contact: Michelle Hudlow, mhudlow@hnoj.org, 763-233-0250

 

Nursery/Childcare

Caring adults are needed to staff the HNOJ Nursery during the 8:30 and 10:30 a.m. Sunday Masses;

during Wednesday night Faith Formation classes from September through April; during Vacation Bible

School; and for other events.

Contact: Jennifer Gilliland, 763-746-8193, jgilliland@hnoj.org